Click to open network menu
Join or Log In
Mobafire logo

Join the leading League of Legends community. Create and share Champion Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account






Or

It's time for the Midseason 12 Guide Contest! Create or update guides in the following 8 weeks for the chance to win up to $200 in prizes! 🏆
's Forum Avatar

The Fallout 4 Forum

Creator: TheRealCefor November 8, 2015 11:34pm
92 posts - page 7 of 10
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Searz
<Ancient Member>
Searz's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
13418
Joined:
Jun 6th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 16, 2015 6:54pm | Report
my biggest reason for going for the PS4 is that it's a third of the price to me upgrading my computer...

Really? What are your current parts?
I'm not a very tech savvy guy but my computer has a Nvidia GeForce GTX 460 v2. I had my friend build my computer for all-you-can-eat at Sonny's BBQ, so honestly I really don't know what my true specs are.

Hmm, yeah, that's kind of old. It should run new games just fine if you don't need them to run at high settings though.
"I love the dirty bomb tag because i get either

a) posts about the game

b) current world affairs" - steel-sentry
OTGBionicArm
<McFly>
OTGBionicArm's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
10305
Joined:
Jan 8th, 2012
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 16, 2015 7:01pm | Report
CPU: AMD FX(tm)-4130 Quad-Core Processor
Video Card: GeForce GTX 650
8 Gigs of Ram

I've had the computer for almost 3 years now and Im pretty sure you and Vyn have told me it would be easier to buy an entirely new computer than try to upgrade mine.
TheRealCefor
<Member>
TheRealCefor's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
290
Joined:
Oct 11th, 2014
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 16, 2015 7:25pm | Report
To be completely honest, I'm just waiting until GTA V releases its first story-content DLC.
Searz
<Ancient Member>
Searz's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
13418
Joined:
Jun 6th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 16, 2015 8:07pm | Report
I've had the computer for almost 3 years now and Im pretty sure you and Vyn have told me it would be easier to buy an entirely new computer than try to upgrade mine.

Well, you could probably recycle your RAM, storage, case and peripherals. The only things you really need to upgrade are CPU, Motherboard and GPU.
Combined the cost should be similar price to a console, while also having better performance.
"Games may not be art, but this one did wonderful things to my ****." - Roger Ebert

"I AM PRETTY SURE THIS MANGA IS VIOLATING SOME LAWS ABOUT CHILD PORNOGRAPHY

I CANNOT GET ENOUGH

****" - mencretnas, on Gigantomakhia
Thalia Kael
<Inhouse Addict>
Thalia Kael's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
2895
Joined:
Dec 5th, 2011
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 16, 2015 9:01pm | Report
Skryim with a few mods looks much better than this...


Also @OTG the difference is that there are a large quantity of games that surpass this one in terms of graphics quality that have already been out for a while whereas Mario 64, while it had inferior graphics to FO4, had really good graphics for when it was released.
Thanks to FatelBlade, JEFFY40HANDS, Nyoike, TheNamelessBard, GrandmasterD, aviseras and koksei for the awesome signatures
Thalia Kael
<Inhouse Addict>
Thalia Kael's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
2895
Joined:
Dec 5th, 2011
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 16, 2015 9:12pm | Report
Searz wrote:

Well, you could probably recycle your RAM, storage, case and peripherals. The only things you really need to upgrade are CPU, Motherboard and GPU.
Combined the cost should be similar price to a console, while also having better performance.


400-600$?
Thanks to FatelBlade, JEFFY40HANDS, Nyoike, TheNamelessBard, GrandmasterD, aviseras and koksei for the awesome signatures
Searz
<Ancient Member>
Searz's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
13418
Joined:
Jun 6th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 17, 2015 5:07am | Report
400-600$?

400$ easy if he is okay with not grabbing the top-of-the-line stuff.
CPU: 140 or 200
MB: 50-100
GPU: 150-300
Skryim with a few mods looks much better than this...

Also @OTG the difference is that there are a large quantity of games that surpass this one in terms of graphics quality that have already been out for a while whereas Mario 64, while it had inferior graphics to FO4, had really good graphics for when it was released.

Yeah, exactly. Even Crysis probably looked better, and that game is 8 ****ing years old by now. Sure, that was a crazy title graphically, but still. There are many games released the last couple of years that look better.
"I sexually Identify as an Attack Helicopter. Ever since I was a boy I dreamed of soaring over the oilfields dropping hot sticky loads on disgusting foreigners. People say to me that a person being a helicopter is Impossible and I’m ****ing ******ed but I don’t care, I’m beautiful. I’m having a plastic surgeon install rotary blades, 30 mm cannons and AMG-114 Hellfire missiles on my body. From now on I want you guys to call me “Apache” and respect my right to kill from above and kill needlessly. If you can’t accept me you’re a heliphobe and need to check your vehicle privilege. Thank you for being so understanding." - Guuse

"uh, I identify as counterstrike and I find this globally offensive" - ???
OTGBionicArm
<McFly>
OTGBionicArm's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
10305
Joined:
Jan 8th, 2012
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 17, 2015 5:11am | Report
Could you make some suggestions for parts? I could swear you and Vyn told me newer parts might not be compatible with my computer in another thread.
Searz
<Ancient Member>
Searz's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
13418
Joined:
Jun 6th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 17, 2015 5:26am | Report
Could you make some suggestions for parts? I could swear you and Vyn told me newer parts might not be compatible with my computer in another thread.

I have no memory of that, but let's focus on what can be done :)

There's one thing you need to check. What Voltage does your RAM run at?
The latest generation of CPUs still support DDR3 (which you use currently), but the problem is that normal/high voltage RAM could potentially burn circuits. You'll want to use low-voltage RAM of 1.35V. Check this in the BIOS or by looking up the product specs for your RAM.

If you don't have that you'd need to spend another 40-50$ on RAM.
And where will you be buying these parts? Newegg?

OTGBionicArm
<McFly>
OTGBionicArm's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
10305
Joined:
Jan 8th, 2012
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep November 17, 2015 5:53am | Report
Probably newegg yeah.

Using something called CPU-z it said my ram voltage is 1.5v? Is that too high?
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

You need to log in before commenting.

League of Legends Champions:

Teamfight Tactics Guide