Mobafire League of Legends Build Guides Mobafire League of Legends Build Guides
's Forum Avatar

This PC?

Creator: Kirluu January 7, 2012 4:36pm
26 posts - page 1 of 3
1 2 3
Kirluu
<Member>
Kirluu's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
823
Joined:
Jan 15th, 2011
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 7, 2012 4:36pm | Report
Hey guys.

I don't have the money now, but I still want to keep my head fresh for what I should be looking for in a good computer to keep up with todays newest games, without lagging what so ever.

Some guys on a Danish hardware forum suggested this a good while back, and I just wanted to hear if you guys had some comments on what this computer offers? Will this be sufficient, and will it be capable of running the latest FPS games on high without lag? (This way I know I can at least run future games on decent graphics).

Link
(Scroll to bottom to see specs)

Thanks for any info you can give me. The price, to let you not need to convert it yourself, is, by today's currencies:

EURO: 672,49
DOLLARS: 859,18

Thanks again.

Kirluu~
Check out my comprehensive guide for Jax !!
-
Make sure to hit that +Rep button if I helped you out, and you feel I deserve it! :)
Searz
<Ancient Member>
Searz's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
13418
Joined:
Jun 6th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 7, 2012 5:06pm | Report
That's really good.
Consider switching the HD6950 for a 6870 unless you plan on flashing your card.
"I walked up to her big butt and asked her *** butt what." - Lil Wayne, lyrical genius

"I can't decide where I stand on abortion, on one hand it is killing children, on the other it gives women a choice." - ???
Kirluu
<Member>
Kirluu's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
823
Joined:
Jan 15th, 2011
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 7, 2012 5:14pm | Report
As this is a preset, I'm not sure how I can really change the card ;s

And I'm sorry to say that I haven't figured out if I can make it cheaper by finding the pieces at individual prices.

Also; Please explain what you mean by flashing the card? ;o Is that to be understood as it not needing to be that good, or ?
Check out my comprehensive guide for Jax !!
-
Make sure to hit that +Rep button if I helped you out, and you feel I deserve it! :)
Blze001
<Member>
Blze001's Forum Avatar
Posts:
65
Joined:
Jan 5th, 2012
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 7, 2012 7:23pm | Report
Kirluu wrote:


And I'm sorry to say that I haven't figured out if I can make it cheaper by finding the pieces at individual prices.



Before you do that research, ask yourself if you'd feel comfortable assembling your own box. It's not that hard, but some people just don't want to or don't like to do it.

I would hesitantly say you could make that system for less piece by piece, as that is the case in most scenarios. It looks like a good gaming system, well suited for most modern games at a respectable framerate and graphics level.
Zoki
<Scout>
Zoki's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
1262
Joined:
Dec 28th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 8, 2012 12:26am | Report
Processor is kind of meh. And 500W power supply look rather weak for such setup.

I'd rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I'm not.
Sigs made by: LaCorpse, jhoijhoi, Katoki, JEFFY40HANDS, The_Nameless_Bard and Sk1llbug
-||- Check out my Master Yi guide -||-
Kirluu
<Member>
Kirluu's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
823
Joined:
Jan 15th, 2011
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 8, 2012 3:10am | Report
Zoki wrote:

Processor is kind of meh. And 500W power supply look rather weak for such setup.

If Quad 3,6 GHz is meh, then I've been away from the market for too damn long. I thought that the processor was one of the stronger sides. Oh well.

About the power supply: I actually currently use a 800 W one, to avoid my computer getting as hot as it used to. (It used to get really hot after about 5-6 hours of gaming, and eventually my supply would die on me, which it did twice with the same kind of supply. I then got a new one with 800W, and now the pc is never in head trouble. ;o I suppose that could work for the new pc as well ?
Check out my comprehensive guide for Jax !!
-
Make sure to hit that +Rep button if I helped you out, and you feel I deserve it! :)
Zoki
<Scout>
Zoki's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
1262
Joined:
Dec 28th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 8, 2012 3:36am | Report
Nah Quad 3,6GHz is good, just AMD sucks. Their built quality is low and their L2 Cache is minimal. Intel are way better, but more expensive aswell. Yeah 800W is fine for such computer. 500W is too low for such build, you might experience some resets because power supply couldn't provide enough energy when under heavy loads. And you might want too add some cooler or something, so some extra Wats won't hurt.

I'd rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I'm not.
Sigs made by: LaCorpse, jhoijhoi, Katoki, JEFFY40HANDS, The_Nameless_Bard and Sk1llbug
-||- Check out my Master Yi guide -||-
Searz
<Ancient Member>
Searz's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
13418
Joined:
Jun 6th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 8, 2012 3:47am | Report
AMD doesn't suck. They just don't make as fast CPUs as Intel. They're still relatively cost efficient.
Besides, GPU matters way more than CPU for gaming.

@OP
Like I said; switch the HD6950 for a HD6870 if you aren't planning on flashing it.
You can make this switch by clicking the "Konfigurer selv og vælg tilbehør" button.
I'm Swedish, so I understand roughly what it means. Besides, we have Komplett here too.

@Zoki
500W is fine for that setup. AMD GPUs are very power efficient. (I think CPU+rest of the comp will take 150-200W, and a 6950 will take ~250W while a 6870 takes ~200W. That's all in heavy load too ofc)
"He cooked cake." - MrCuddowls

"Oh forget it, I have nothing to hid, I admit it, 12 hours of every single day of my life ever since I was eleven years old have been anal sex with canoes" - MrCuddowls
Searz
<Ancient Member>
Searz's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
13418
Joined:
Jun 6th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 8, 2012 3:53am | Report
Kirluu wrote:

If Quad 3,6 GHz is meh, then I've been away from the market for too damn long. I thought that the processor was one of the stronger sides. Oh well.

It used to be a GHz race, but now it's all about speed. And GHz is not an accurate measurement tool for overall speed.
"Moral justification is a powerful disengagement mechanism. Destructive conduct is made personally and socially acceptable by portraying it in the service of moral ends." - Albert Bandura

"Ultimately, if people lose their willingness to recognize that there are times in our history when legality becomes distinct from morality, we aren't just ceding control of our rights to government, but our futures." - Edward Snowden
Zoki
<Scout>
Zoki's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Posts:
1262
Joined:
Dec 28th, 2010
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep | Commend January 8, 2012 5:49am | Report
Yeah sure you can go with 500W, but you can also forget about any overclocking or any additional coolers, which you may regret later.

About AMD processor, you can get Intel i3 for same price and it's a bit better and it's built quality is better. Intel Core i3 2100 which is Core 2 Duo with 3.1GHz beats AMD FX-4100 that is Quad 3.6GHz. But 2100 cant be overclocked, so if you're intending to overclock I suggest you go with AMD. But as stated, if you're gonna take AMD and overclock it, you'll need stronger power supply.

I'd rather be hated for who I am than loved for who I'm not.
Sigs made by: LaCorpse, jhoijhoi, Katoki, JEFFY40HANDS, The_Nameless_Bard and Sk1llbug
-||- Check out my Master Yi guide -||-
1 2 3

You need to log in before commenting.