Click to open network menu
Join or Log In
Mobafire logo

Join the leading League of Legends community. Create and share Champion Guides and Builds.

Create an MFN Account

Or

's Forum Avatar

Multiple Choice Exams

Creator: jhoijhoi September 24, 2014 7:13am
62 posts - page 1 of 7
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
Do you think education systems should use multiple choice exams?
jhoijhoi
<MOBAFire Mother>
jhoijhoi's Forum Avatar
Show more awards
Permalink | Quote | PM | +Rep September 24, 2014 7:13am | Report
http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-09-23/cqu-scraps-multiple-choice-exams-in-an-australian-first/5763226

I'm not sure how it's done everywhere else in the world, but in Australia multiple choice exams exist from primary school, through to high school, into university and even can be required to gain employment before a face-to-face interview. As a teacher, I'd use multiple choice for simple revision or to give a few "easy questions" for an exam in math, science or social studies.

I've never really had to think about it before, as it wasn't something that really bothered me, but I don't think multiple choice questions really test knowledge. If given four different answers, you can make a reasonable assumption of which one is correct, and very possibly, completely guess and get it right. This sort of system doesn't crack down on people who just pass exams by the skin of their teeth.

In Australia, all school children are subjected to the National Assessment Program – Literacy and Numeracy (NAPLAN), which is an annual assessment for students in Years 3, 5, 7 and 9. This exam does contain multiple choice questions. Now I wonder if those national standards are correct; how can you accurately measure intelligence if there is complete luck involved via multiple choice?

What are your thoughts?
guide writing tips 'n tricksashes to ashesfancy a sig?

♡ sig by me ♡
Teh Grazzh0pper
<Member>
Teh Grazzh0pper's Forum Avatar
Show more awards